Good Good Father

https://youtu.be/cAPUo65t2tI – Zealand Worship 
image

I have always said I am a work in progress. That has never been more true than since January 9, 2016.

I was unprepared on every level for the loss I would feel when my brother passed away. He would address anyone who pressed him with medical questions by responding, “Don’t talk to me about dying while I am still living.” I took that very much to heart and discovered that all of my communication, all of my thoughts, everything centered on the present tense. I pushed away any thoughts of ‘when’, ‘how’, ‘why’, etc. Thus, it was truly a shock to hear the words that he was physically gone from this earth. Can any of you relate to this?

In the days since he has left us I have been very intentional in making physical contact with other people. I have reached out to at least one person every day that I know is hurting in some way, lonely, or just has some need in their life. It is my way of connecting to this present life.

What I am slowly seeing is that my God IS a good, good father. I never questioned this but I don’t think I allowed myself to fully embrace that concept. I had compartmentalised him to a small vision of being perfect, omniscient, omnipresent, etc. But good? That was hard for me to see during this time with my brother. I just put the question out of mind.

When I turn the situation and the questions off of myself and on to what God is doing around me, yes, he is indeed a good, good father.

How have you seen that in your own life?

Tagged: , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Good Good Father

  1. lifehelps January 29, 2016 at 7:54 pm Reply

    I’m sorry about your loss. I lost my 23-year-old nephew on July 17 of last year. One of the things it challenged me to do is to press into God’s goodness. He knows what each of us needs and partners with us so completely. He gives us choices and honors them: How loving is that! I have found great comfort in allowing Him to draw me close to His heart as I grieved my loss. I hear Christians say that we should not go through bereavement; but instead, we should rejoice for the one who has gone to Heaven. I say, do both. Yes, they are free from pain and sorrow; they are with Jesus. Yes, I miss him. I had to wrestle with the fact that a terrible disease took his life. I rejoice in the fact that death has no victory over believers; Jesus secured eternal life for us.
    Oh the tension and intrigue of paradoxes!

    Like

  2. Overwhelmed By Joy January 29, 2016 at 9:05 pm Reply

    Thank you, that is very encouraging. I’ve said several times that I think we do great harm when we rush ourselves or others through the grieving process. The same Creator who made us designed to love also created us with many other emotions. Throughout the Bible, emotions become sin only when mishandled. On their own, most – not all – are a part of the sum of who He created us to be. I am in that balancing time. You spoke it perfectly when you called it a paradox. I am very sorry about the loss of your nephew last July. We will both press into God’s goodness.

    Like

Leave a Reply

