What is healing and why do only some seem to receive it?

That great question…Why does God promise that He heals and yet He seems to not be healing me? He isn’t healing my loved one or my friend. Maybe you are blaming yourself that God has not yet healed you. Perhaps others are doing so. Some have looked me in the face and said my sickness is a result of God punishing me for some sin. Confess and you will be well, they say. Can anyone relate?

So why are there so many promises in the Bible on healing? There are a lot, don’t misunderstand me. Stay with me if you are questioning today. God has an ultimate plan that goes far beyond this life. His greatest desire is that you, loved one, would choose to spend eternity with Him. Does He care about your sufferings of today? Absolutely. He is the one who created you and loves you more than anyone. His greatest desire supersedes your present circumstances, as painful and difficult as that may be to hear today.

What is God’s healing? Healing from the weight of our sins of this life by placing the trust of our circumstances…the balance of our lives…into the hands of Jesus Christ. Does that sound risky? Ask God to show you what is in store for you by doing so. Ask those friends, those family members that you know have a personal relationship with Jesus what that really looks like, what you can expect from God.

Why do only some seem to receive healing from God? He looks at us through eternal vision glasses that are incomparably stronger and greater than anything someone like I could possess the wisdom to understand with my mortal insight.

I know one thing for certain: All who ask to walk with Him eternally do receive healing. Does it look like you think it will look? Absolutely not. Few things do in the end. Will it be worth it? More than anyone on this side of heaven has any idea. Will you consider joining me if you haven’t already?

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

6 thoughts on “What is healing and why do only some seem to receive it?

  1. writerwannabe763 April 13, 2015 at 6:15 pm Reply

    Healing is such a delicate, complicate issue for so many. Our church prayer sheet has about 25 requests and so many are for ‘cancer’ … so many friends and family hoping that their loved one will be healed, and yet in a lot of cases they are not…. It’s difficult when some are not Christians and they don’t see the prayers answered. Of course God makes the ultimate decision and we as Christians know that…but it is hard… Diane

    Like

    • Overwhelmed By Joy April 13, 2015 at 10:37 pm Reply

      It is hard, completely beyond my capacity to explain God’s sovereignty and plan in each individual case. I only know that Void does love us, He does care, He does heal, He does answer all of our prayers…but it is not the way we would always like. This post comes from a very difficult place in my life, not just verses from a Bible on a shelf. If I did not have the hope of eternity with Him, and my loved ones with me, both this life and life everlasting would be in vain. Christ truly is the Rock on which I stand, more today than ever.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. onlyalittlewhile April 16, 2015 at 11:01 am Reply

    This is beautifully transparent! Thank you for sharing!

    I, like you, struggle immensely with comprehending why it is that some receive a physical healing while others do not. Watching someone that you love suffering is so ridiculously difficult. It is challenging to receive the love of our Father when it seems He has turned a deaf ear to our circumstances.

    However, as you have written many times….I have chosen to trust that His Word is true and that He is forever faithful in my life, even if the healing doesn’t come this side of heaven. I am also training myself not to accept the “Job” comments in my life. I will only listen to the voice of Christ and those He has sent to encourage me! On this day…that voice of encouragement came through your eloquent post!

    I will be “walking” for you this weekend and all those who are fighting the courageous battle against MS.

    Write on my sweet friend~
    Karen

    Like

    • Overwhelmed By Joy April 16, 2015 at 7:59 pm Reply

      Oh Karen, how much you touched me with your words! I think of that dear hymn with the lyrics, ‘Through it all, through it all, I’ve learned to trust in Jesus, I’ve learned to trust in Him.’ Thank you more than I can say for walking in the MS Walk. Walking in my name is a precious honor I humbly accept.

      Like

  3. Mary June 24, 2015 at 7:01 am Reply

    I have been chronically ill since I was 22. It has been over 10 years now.

    Many people will tell me that my chronic pain, long term illness, and being bed bound will have meaning some day, that God will heal me, or that He is preparing me for something greater in my future. However, I don’t believe we are always meant to wait until our storms pass to be of use.
    The Bible says that in our weakness, his power is made perfect.
    I trust that my body does not have to be a perfect specimen to be attractive to God’s hand. I can be in my wheel chair or bed, and I am so grateful that even from home, He has given me opportunities to be of service. That service has been part of my healing.

    Thank you so much for this reminder that healing comes in many forms. We live in our flesh, and need to be reminded of that. God bless you.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Overwhelmed By Joy June 24, 2015 at 9:37 am Reply

      I agree with you Mary. Not every situation is the same at all, nor do we have to be perfect to be used. God has you exactly where He wants you. That is quite admirable and brave that you are willing and wanting to be used by Him and for Him, rather than to stay focused simply on the pain of your circumstances.

      Like

Leave a Reply

