What a Beautiful Sunset!

God made this for you, Mom

God made this for you, Mom

One of the most significant changes in my relationship with my mother as her Alzheimer’s progresses is how we converse. There are definitely challenges but I am so thankful in many ways! First, I still have her with me physically. Second, she still remembers me and recognizes me. Third, she still retains the personality I have known her to have throughout my life.

Like most mothers, she has several ‘mom-isms’ that stick with me. Now my children and grandchildren get to hear some of my favorite ones:

  • If you don’t have something nice to say, don’t say anything at all.
  • This is the day that the Lord has made. I will rejoice and be glad in it.
  • I done went and et too much!
  • I think I have I little fur booties on my teeth.

Perhaps my favorite one is this:

  • Did you see the sunset last night? It was so beautiful! I almost called you to go outside and look at it but I was afraid I was calling too late.

I love this for several reasons. Alzheimer’s has taken away a lot of things from her but it hasn’t taken away her love for the simple things that I can take for granted – the sunset that comes every night. You see, her memory is now such that she doesn’t remember much more than a few minutes at a time most days. She is not recalling last night’s sunset. Instead she is recalling how much she loves God’s sunsets that come each and every night. Isn’t that amazing?

Also, she still thinks of others. She wants to share that happiness that she feels with me and our family. And she shows some level of concern for us.

My mother is undoubtedly greatly affected by Alzheimer’s at this stage in the disease. I don’t want to minimize that. I am so thankful to share some of her daily delights, however.

For some of my other posts about our journey into Alzheimer’s, please visit my page listed at the top titled Journey Into Alzheimer’s.

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

6 thoughts on “What a Beautiful Sunset!

  1. writerwannabe763 April 4, 2014 at 8:34 pm Reply

    The fact that she recognizes you is so special.. when my Mom deteriorated not Alzheimers but brain surgery due to an aneurysm.. she deteriorated and lost the ability to speak and react… so while I didn’t know if she knew who we were, I talked to her as if she did… ( a long time ago) Diane

    Like

    • Overwhelmed By Joy April 5, 2014 at 9:31 am Reply

      I cannot imagine that experience… but I’m trying to prepare myself for it. A social worker employed by her physician let us know that this would be the next likely stage. If you are open to it, I would love to have you as a guest writer on my blog to share some of your experiences and/or suggestions. Let me know if you would be interested.

      Like

      • writerwannabe763 April 5, 2014 at 9:57 am

        I could probably write a blog on some of what I felt and experienced when my mother became ill etc. if you would like…. thank you for the invitation…. Diane

        Like

  2. writerwannabe763 April 5, 2014 at 10:08 am Reply

    Just as an aside… I was not aware that you had M.S. as I do also..but am not severely debilitated by it….. Diane

    Like

    • Overwhelmed By Joy April 5, 2014 at 10:31 am Reply

      It was actually the reason I started the blog because several people asked me to write about how I go through my journey with the attitude that they have witnessed – not that I have it all together by any means!! This morning I was having a moment of a pity party because I saw many of my local friends, including one who has very mild MS, participating in a local 5K. I have to put into practice what I write here in those moments. I thank God that you are not greatly debilitated by it… and continue to thank Him for my times of good health and all He is teaching me!

      Like

      • writerwannabe763 April 5, 2014 at 10:49 am

        I couldn’t do a marathon or even walk long distances. I do use a scooter in large malls or stores as my legs are weak… feel like lead…. cognitive issues and the usual weakness and fatigue… but I am thankful also that I can function otherwise normally… Diane

        Like

Leave a Reply

