My internal power-saving feature

English: An icon from the Crystal icon theme. ...

English: An icon from the Crystal icon theme. Nederlands: Een icoontje van het Crystal icon thema (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

 

I bought a new tablet this summer. I’m a gadgets girl by nature, but this was purchased for a different reason. The screen for my laptop went out years ago. It is nice to stay connected to the outside world, but it only ran because of the hamsters secretly running in place of my battery.

 

Opening up this new toy has been like Christmas Day all summer long. My favorite feature is the Power Saving feature. I’m a nerd. I’ve spent hours figuring out how to make the battery last. For example, I don’t need the screen to rotate right now. If I’m not using Wi-Fi I put it on airplane mode.

 

The question that I face is this: if I put so much effort into using energy wisely for an electronic device, how much thought do I put into how I manage my own energy resources? Do I make the wisest choices so that my own mind, body, and spirit are at their full capacity? Or would my batter life say empty if it had a meter on it? How much do you have left in your energy meter?

 

You have shown me the way of life, and you will fill me with the Joy of your presence.

 

– Acts 2:28

 

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

7 thoughts on “My internal power-saving feature

  1. carolyncordon August 10, 2013 at 7:58 pm Reply

    This is so important. Sometimes we race around doing things others want us to do and have nothing left to do things four ourselves. I try to always remain aware of how my mind and body are both feeling, and then I have enough for both myself and for others. It’s so difficult to weigh these things up sometimes…

    Like

    • Overwhelmed By Joy August 11, 2013 at 7:21 am Reply

      It is a difficult balance, isn’t it? I may be working on it the rest of my life. Hopefully I’m making progress.

      Like

  2. therunningtherapist August 11, 2013 at 11:43 am Reply

    Great question. It is making me think today. Where is my battery life right now and am I fully charged to start the new week? Thanks for this because now I am thinking I will change how I look at things today to be more energized. 🙂

    Like

  3. sagescenery August 11, 2013 at 1:27 pm Reply

    I went back to work last year…teaching part-time 3 days per week, after being retired from teaching for 10 years. It didn’t sound like much, so I kept all the other things/ministries I already had on my plate, going strong!! I was completely exhausted through the entire year! After this summer vacation, I decided to only work two days per week, and cut back on other obligations, too! To be fully present (and joyful!! Ha!) in all areas of my life! Great post!

    Like

    • Overwhelmed By Joy August 11, 2013 at 1:54 pm Reply

      I’m certain you will have a lot more balance this coming year… And enjoy it much more as well! It’s a process of finding out the priorities of what you need to do do versus what you want to do, isn’t it?

      Like

      • sagescenery August 11, 2013 at 3:13 pm

        Oh, yes, it’s a tough one, for sure!! I might be fine, if I didn’t need so much sleep at my age!! Ha!!

        Like

  4. alwayzhis August 11, 2013 at 1:28 pm Reply

    🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

