Moon River

As I write this, the news of Andy Williams’ passing has just reached the news. We live near Branson, Missouri, where he spent many of the last days of his life. I grew up listening to Moon River because of my parents’ great love of music. I immediately hear my father singing as I think of him. It brings back some of my fondest memories of my father.

In recent years, some of the conversation turned from Andy’s vast career to his health. He shared that he had bladder cancer less than a year ago. “I do have cancer of the bladder,” he said on stage, according to the Branson Tri-Lakes News. “But that is no longer a death sentence. People with cancer are getting through this thing.”

I clung to this statement earlier this year as we entered a new phase with my mother’s bladder cancer. I wanted the reassurance that everything would be fine, I wanted to hear only the best statistics. I wanted to hear that she would not suffer, that she would survive this. Isn’t that what most of us want, if we were being honest? The fear swelled back up in my throat when I heard the news. I have a choice: enjoy the day and the fond memories, or dwell on what could be. Some days the decision is easier to make than others.

“The important things are children, honesty, integrity and faith. ” – Andy Williams

“If God gives such attention to the appearance of wildflowers—most of which are never even seen—don’t you think he’ll attend to you, take pride in you, do his best for you? What I’m trying to do here is to get you to relax, to not be so preoccupied with getting, so you can respond to God’s giving. People who don’t know God and the way he works fuss over these things, but you know both God and how he works. Steep your life in God-reality, God-initiative, God-provisions. Don’t worry about missing out. You’ll find all your everyday human concerns will be met. Give your entire attention to what God is doing right now, and don’t get worked up about what may or may not happen tomorrow. God will help you deal with whatever hard things come up when the time comes.” – Matt. 6:33-34, The Message

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

12 thoughts on “Moon River

  1. purplepug13 September 26, 2012 at 9:33 am Reply

    Very hard God-lesson to live by, but so very true. My mother in law (who passed in January) had Alzheimer’s for probably all told about 8 years…the last four were very tough, but we kept her at home and all pitched in. The last year she was also diagnosed with bladder cancer, but the Alzheimer’s was so advanced by then that the bladder cancer became a non-issue. I will keep you and your family in prayer, peace be with you all.

    Like

    • Overwhelmed By Joy September 26, 2012 at 9:35 am Reply

      Thank you for your prayers. That is the difficult question we have faced this year: how aggressively do we treat the cancer. . . because do we want her to survive it only to succumb to Alzheimer’s? I am so sorry for the loss of your mother in law.

      Like

  2. Clanmother September 26, 2012 at 9:57 am Reply

    Thank you for your profound and moving post…

    Like

  3. writerwannabe763 September 26, 2012 at 10:04 am Reply

    I’m so sorry to hear about Andy….He was certainly a favourite of mine. Cancer can be different in each and every person so we will hope that your mother will recover with hers’….Diane

    Like

    • Overwhelmed By Joy September 26, 2012 at 1:49 pm Reply

      He was definitely a great performer & person of character. I feel very fortunate to have seen him in concert and met him personally through some local events. Thank you regarding the comments about my mother, we will know in a few weeks.

      Like

  4. Melissmor September 26, 2012 at 2:02 pm Reply

    Gosh, I absolutely love this, you are so right. God’s love is ALL around us, He takes care of the very minute to the very huge! Lovely

    Like

    • Overwhelmed By Joy September 26, 2012 at 2:06 pm Reply

      It is almost unbelievable to take that in sometimes, but I’m so thankful that it is true. Thank you for stopping by!

      Like

      • Melissmor September 26, 2012 at 2:28 pm

        Your blogs are so wonderful, you are a shining example of God’s great works in us. This life is not perfect and still in all its imperfections, God will not ever leave our sides. You are really awesome. It’s always a pleasure to stop by.

        Like

  5. ervrea September 27, 2012 at 12:27 pm Reply

    Where do you live?

    I grew up just outside of Springfield.

    Erv

    Sent from my iPad

    Like

    • Overwhelmed By Joy September 27, 2012 at 12:29 pm Reply

      We are just south of Lake Springfield. We love this area ~ beautiful, and the community is so nice!

      Like

  6. ansuyo September 28, 2012 at 11:11 pm Reply

    I loved Andy so much, even though he’s before my generation, but I loved him anyway. Sometimes God heals here and sometimes in heaven, but He always heals.

    Like

    • Overwhelmed By Joy September 30, 2012 at 7:56 am Reply

      I agree completely with you. We won’t always see the answers to those prayers in our present life, and I am so thankful this isn’t the end of the story.

      Like

Leave a Reply

