There are always choices

I don’t know how your week has started. My week started out with challenges the minute I woke up. Anxious feeling creeping up, financial concerns, more medical concerns. Frustrated about a few things.

Each day I have to make a conscious choice: Will my emotions or circumstances rule my day? What or who will I access control to when the currents are rising? Does everything have to go the direction I intended? Some days I have to ask the hard questions.

I don’t know what you are facing today. Perhaps the looming questions seem insurmountable. Perhaps your week has gotten off to a fantastic start. However it has begun, may I encourage you to remember that your attitude is always a choice.

“The sooner we learn that feelings are fickle, the better off we are.” – Joyce Meyer

“Often I have heard people say, “How good God is! We prayed that it would not rain for our church picnic, and look at the lovely weather!” Yes, God is good when He sends good weather. But God was also good when He allowed my sister, Betsie, to starve to death before my eyes in a German concentration camp. I remember one occasion when I was very discouraged there. Everything around us was dark, and there was darkness in my heart. I remember telling Betsie that I thought God had forgotten us. “No, Corrie,” said Betsie, “He has not forgotten us. Remember His Word: “For as the heavens are high above the earth, so great is His steadfast love toward those who fear Him.” Corrie concludes, “There is an ocean of God’s love available – there is plenty for everyone. May God grant you never to doubt that victorious love – whatever the circumstances.”

– Corrie Ten Boon

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , ,

45 thoughts on “There are always choices

  1. Anne Wingate September 24, 2012 at 7:32 am Reply

    May your day become better as it goes along. My day started in dribbles. I got my usual two hours of sleep. I was up several times during the night cleaning the kitchen in dribbles because I hadn’t the energy to do it all at once. It’s now 6:25 and I have been up since 5:30, finishing the kitchen and starting the laundry. My back hasn’t started hurting yet, but it will quite soon. It did when I was doing the last load of dishes at 3:00 AM. The bread I started on an advanced timer has begun cooking; it will be ready at 9:30.My husband can’t eat anything today but clear liquids because of a medical procedure tomorrow, so he will be in the best of spirits. To all of you who are having good days,enjoy them; if you are having a rotten day, escape into escapist fiction whenever you have the time. Or play Tennessee Ernie Ford CDs if nobody who will object is in the house.

    My daughter-in-law tagged me on Facebook the other day. There was a picture of an old woman pointing a revolver with a six-inch barrel at a burglar and saying, “While we’re waiting for the police to come, I’m going to talk to you about God.” My d-i-l said, “That has to be my mother-in-law.” I thought it was rather sweet of her, but then I am very fond of my daughter-in-law. Small things like that can make a bad day good..

    Like

    • Overwhelmed By Joy September 24, 2012 at 7:52 am Reply

      You certainly do have a lot to deal with. I hope the preparation and test for your husband go well, and that today improves for you. You have some very good suggestions about changing your environment despite the circumstances. Thank you for stopping by.

      Like

    • Monica September 24, 2012 at 9:24 pm Reply

      I’ve been trying to adapt this type of attitude for a while now. It’s not easy, but it gets easier with practice. Glad I have others who remind me that I have a choice in the matter! Thank you!

      Like

  2. jmd5717 September 24, 2012 at 8:15 am Reply

    Very nice. I use to often ponder the whole question of, “Thank you God for this and that” verses “Oh Lord, what have I done to deserve this”. But then one day I say down and really read the book of Job. I read it with my soul, not my eyes, and well dare I say that book has all the answer one needs to the questions above.

    Have a great day!

    Like

    • Overwhelmed By Joy September 24, 2012 at 8:21 am Reply

      That is so true. When circumstances seem never-ending, I can’t think of a better book than Job to get perspective on things. Thank you for sharing that. I hope you have a great day as well!

      Like

  3. The Verdant Home September 24, 2012 at 10:27 am Reply

    I had to laugh when I read the quote by Joyce Meyer…SO true! Feelings are just feelings. I wish I had known that when I was younger as it would have saved me much drama. lol

    Have a great day!

    Like

    • Overwhelmed By Joy September 24, 2012 at 10:45 am Reply

      I know how you feel! Following my feelings often led to unnecessary drama. Live and learn. 🙂

      Like

  4. lenwilliamscarver September 24, 2012 at 10:47 am Reply

    One of my favorite books is Job

    Like

  5. theclaudiofiore September 24, 2012 at 11:03 am Reply

    Reblogged this on The Claudio Fiore and commented:
    From the heart, There really are always choices, without no doubt.

    Like

  6. angelreformed September 24, 2012 at 12:56 pm Reply

    Thank you for your words! I have had a heavy heart, struggling to hold on to hope and and to keep placing my faith in the Lord, knowing he is faithful, and believable, and true. I know, especially during these times, that what I need most is encouragement from my brothers and sisters. For this very reason, I thank you sooo much for these words.

    You have certainly encouraged me, and before this I have been encouraged also, that one issues isn’t so much an issue anymore. ^.^ That’s what happens when, despite all the pain and suffering, and the heavy hearts, you decide to allow God’s will to be done and place everything in His hands, make it your primary mission to see things His way, and of course, look for encouragement from brothers and sisters. It definitely helps to fellowship with each other.

    Thank you once again. I still feel pretty low, but I know it will get brighter. ^.^

    Like

    • Overwhelmed By Joy September 24, 2012 at 2:26 pm Reply

      It is difficult during times in our lives, it does take a lot of effort sometimes to keep moving forward. I thought of 1 Cor. 9:24 (The Message) – I don’t know about you, but I’m running hard for the finish line. I’m giving it everything I’ve got. No sloppy living for me! I’m staying alert and in top condition. I’m not going to get caught napping, telling everyone else all about it and then missing out myself. I will be praying for you.

      Like

  7. There are always choices « Daily Proverbs September 24, 2012 at 12:58 pm Reply

    […] There are always choices. […]

    Like

  8. yomicfit September 24, 2012 at 2:17 pm Reply

    Have you read “Unglued” by Lysa’s Terkeurst?
    I am in the process but it is great!
    She speaks about emotions as well

    Like

    • Overwhelmed By Joy September 24, 2012 at 2:27 pm Reply

      I have not. I will look for it. Thank you so much for the suggestion!

      Like

  9. foodnotherstuff September 24, 2012 at 7:15 pm Reply

    Your posts are always inspiring. Just what I needed to read today! Thanks for sharing.

    Like

  10. rachelmeeks September 25, 2012 at 12:17 pm Reply

    Easier said than done! Struggling a lot with choosing love over discord in our house, and with resisting the urge to lash out. :/

    Like

  11. Melissmor September 26, 2012 at 2:26 pm Reply

    WOW, you said it best girlfriend, life is solely about choices. We choose to be happy or sad, we choose the crazy situations and the best situations we face and even so in times of madness, it feels extremely awesome knowing that while it may seem and feel as if God’s forgotten us, this is not the case.

    I love this!

    Like

    • Overwhelmed By Joy September 26, 2012 at 2:41 pm Reply

      Thank you so much. Phil. 4:8 rolls through my thoughts constantly, and reminds me regularly to keep my thoughts and heart focused in the right direction.

      Like

  12. We Have 2 Boys September 28, 2012 at 10:46 am Reply

    I wish all siblings thought as highly of each other as Corrie Ten Boom thought of her sister. If so, families wouldn’t be as fragmented as they are now. Sisters – God’s proof that one should never walk alone…
    I keep in mind that even during hard times, something good can result and we will learn something in the long run, reminds me of Psalm 126:5 “They that sow in tears shall reap in joy.”

    Like

    • Overwhelmed By Joy September 28, 2012 at 11:10 am Reply

      That is very true. Family relationships are often one of the most challenging of all. I am no expert on that topic, but I appreciate the insight and encouragement of others. I greatly appreciate the verse you shared.

      Like

  13. stephen September 28, 2012 at 11:31 am Reply

    thanks, i needed that!

    Like

  14. food4thoughtnyc September 28, 2012 at 11:43 am Reply

    Reblogged this on FOOD 4 THOUGHT NYC and commented:
    A beautiful post that huts me right in the heart. I’m challenged daily by negative thoughts and vibes from other people and I’m constantly looking for ways to make peace with it on my own. This is why I love affirmations because I need these quick reminders to keep me on track. This post perfectly encapsulates the kind of positive attitude that I aspire to have in my life. Thanks to this amazing blogger and thank you for reading! Happy Friday! 🙂

    Like

    • Overwhelmed By Joy September 30, 2012 at 7:38 am Reply

      Thank you, it keeps my heart in the right attitude also. I am glad to hear that it encouraged you! 🙂

      Like

  15. balancedwesomeness September 29, 2012 at 2:03 am Reply

    I have nominated you for a “lovely blog award”, because I really enjoy reading your insightful posts…it is always enjoyable and filled with truths…thankyou!

    Like

  16. Nader Nazemi September 29, 2012 at 6:44 am Reply

    Good Read. 🙂

    Like

  17. Penny September 30, 2012 at 2:33 pm Reply

    Nice post. Overwhelmed by Joy… great title. When I have a negative thought it’s not the thought that’s necessarily going to cause a problem, it’s the feeling attached to the thought. Change your thoughts and change your feelings.

    Like

  18. PhotoMom October 2, 2012 at 11:58 pm Reply

    I’m working on positive thinking. I used to do so well all my life basically, but after so long, I get weary and have both good and bad days.

    Like

    • Overwhelmed By Joy October 3, 2012 at 8:04 am Reply

      It is hard to give it your best attitude every day, with such big challenges in front of you. One of the most important things I do for myself is my gratitude journal or listing my blessings. I remove myself from any negative people that I can. I will pray for you. Don’t be too hard on yourself – it is a journey!

      Like

  19. 808kat October 6, 2012 at 8:17 pm Reply

    you were the first to like one of my silly blogs, I have added you and enjoyed this reading.. I look forward to reading more

    Like

    • Overwhelmed By Joy October 8, 2012 at 10:31 am Reply

      I always admire peoples’ courage to write a blog! Thank you for contributing your thoughts in your own blog.

      Like

  20. MS October 7, 2012 at 10:51 am Reply

    I believe there is no day but today.

    Enjoy yours, dear.

    Like

    • Overwhelmed By Joy October 8, 2012 at 10:31 am Reply

      Thank you. I hope your day goes well also.

      Like

      • MS October 8, 2012 at 12:10 pm

        Actually, it did go well. Thank my blessings, right?

        Glad I am following you, inspiring and real. Thanks.

        Like

  21. theoverberg.com October 8, 2012 at 10:50 pm Reply

    This piece was an encouragement to me today, thank you, I have shared it so hopefully it will do the same for some other folk I know who need to read this.

    Like

    • Overwhelmed By Joy October 8, 2012 at 11:01 pm Reply

      I am very glad to hear that.

      Like

  22. hilmo1122 October 8, 2012 at 10:53 pm Reply

    thanks for sharing, I need to read all of those little reminders!

    Like

    • Overwhelmed By Joy October 8, 2012 at 11:02 pm Reply

      I do myself! Thank you for stopping by.

      Like

  23. Adrian Pantonial October 8, 2012 at 11:08 pm Reply

    Thank you for liking my posts. I’m sorry that it’s only now that I have been able to visit your very inspiring blog.

    This post helps me see today as something special from God.
    Thank you! 😉

    Like

    • Overwhelmed By Joy October 8, 2012 at 11:53 pm Reply

      I’m very glad to hear that! Thank you for stopping by!

      Like

  24. grandmadonnieonline October 17, 2012 at 3:11 pm Reply

    Reblogged this on Grandma Donnie On Line and commented:
    Uplifting, Encouraging

    Like

Leave a Reply

