Love you to the moon

As the week progresses, this one is turning out much more nicely than it started. I woke up this morning just thinking how happy I was about a turn of events. I just love our loan officer who qualified us for a loan in about 20 minutes. I love the car dealer who has made us a fantastic deal on a car. I love the sushi I had for dinner last night. I really love the cooler weather outdoors. A cup of coffee and a good book – who doesn’t love that?

Things I don’t love include a paid-off car being totaled. I don’t love the ugly bruises on my arms from my asthma injections. I don’t love that person in my Bible study who stares across the room, pretending that we haven’t known each other for fifteen years.

Whoooaaa! How could I admit that?

The word can be over-used and abused, wouldn’t you agree?

If love was all about reciprocating the feedback and encouragement of others, we would all be in trouble. Let me back up. Maybe I wonder why the friend is behaving that way and I choose to be offended. Maybe, just maybe, I know why she is behaving that way. She just might be embarrassed by the unfortunate turn of events in her life recently, and hopes I don’t know. Maybe, perhaps, allowing for a possibility, she has always been shy. Or, she really may just not like me. Isn’t that okay? Why do I feel obligated to respond in kind to how I interpret her actions?

I want to share a few comments for your consideration. I have included a hyperlink back to the original site.

  • Enlarge your understanding. Your definition of love may be too narrow. Love is more than a good feeling or romance. You do not need to agree with someone to act with consideration. You do not need to be attracted to someone to demonstrate a loving attitude.
  • Adjust the angle of your perspective. “It ain’t about you.” Love motivates people to sacrifice for others, not expecting any personal benefit. Stop thinking selfishly. Look for the needs of others, and then do your Find words and actions of love that are appropriate. Learn to speak words of blessing rather than criticism. Share your resources with a needy person.
  • Participate in your community of faith. Offer gifts and perform thoughtful deeds with no ulterior motivation.part to meet their needs.
  • Accept disappointment. Not everyone will return your love. This is not failure. It is not your goal to make the world love you, but for you to love the world.

Love never gives up.
Love cares more for others than for self.
Love doesn’t want what it doesn’t have.
Love doesn’t strut,
Doesn’t have a swelled head,
Doesn’t force itself on others,
Isn’t always “me first,”
Doesn’t fly off the handle,
Doesn’t keep score of the sins of others,
Doesn’t revel when others grovel,
Takes pleasure in the flowering of truth,
Puts up with anything,
Trusts God always,
Always looks for the best,
Never looks back,
But keeps going to the end. (Portions of 1 Cor. 13, The Message)

Ouch, that was convicting! Next week, I am showing up with a notecard. I will write things that are encouraging, things I would need to hear in her situation. What are some ways you would extend love to her?

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

14 thoughts on “Love you to the moon

  1. writerwannabe763 September 19, 2012 at 10:25 am Reply

    Wow really ‘introspective’ (big word I know) but it fits “I think”?. I do the same thing if I find myself in a quandary about someone’s attitude towards me that I don’t understand …I could offer what I believe in your friend’s case might be a reason but it would only be a guess and who really knows….Diane

    Like

    • Overwhelmed By Joy September 19, 2012 at 2:25 pm Reply

      I am really going to work on changing that situation & encouraging her. She is going through a complete upheaval in her life. Praying for her is my first step. 🙂

      Like

  2. DEB September 19, 2012 at 2:22 pm Reply

    “Love them, like Jesus would, and they will want what you have.” A pastor told me that, after bragging about points, I made, with my daughter in law. It is true. You can’t change people, and it is really GODs job anyway.I heard this yesterday, “Pray when you feel GODs love.” We make promises to God, and fail at keeping the promises. But the promises that matter, are the ones he made to us.Thought I’d share, thespirits,encouragement I’ve been getting.

    ________________________________

    Like

    • Overwhelmed By Joy September 19, 2012 at 2:27 pm Reply

      That is a great statement and following comments. Thank you for sharing!

      Like

  3. sagescenery September 19, 2012 at 2:24 pm Reply

    Love this post!

    Too often we label someone our “enemy,” but REALLY…how many “real enemies” do we have???? Just because they don’t agree with us, or are not exactly like us…doesn’t make them our enemy!!

    And even if they are our enemies, we’re taught to love them…so LOVE is what we have to extend either way!!

    Great post!

    Like

  4. angelreformed September 19, 2012 at 3:45 pm Reply

    Thank you for this post. I try to do my best to think of everyone as my brothers and sisters, and I do my best to love each one of them. The issue is…I sometimes get so wrapped up in sharing God’s love that I start to put a lot of the pressure on myself. Like, I am currently reaching out to a foreign exchange student from South Korea (a place I know in my heart the Lord wants me to be; when I get there only He knows) and I do my best to seize each and every opportunity I have to be his friend, to learn more about him, and to understand him. I also know he’s struggling so I want to help him feel more comfortable here and its hard for me to believe , a lot of times, that the efforts I make , no matter how small they seem, actually make a difference.
    I want to believe that it does, and I know that its God’s job to really make a change anyway, but I sometimes, especially recently, feel like my efforts mean nothing, and result in nothing.
    It doesn’t make me want to give up, it makes me try harder, but the problem comes in…perhaps I’m trying to hard and I just need to relax.

    Sometimes its difficult for me to just relax in this particular situation. I’m always afraid that perhaps in trying to be his friend I’ll end up hurting him or offending him or something stupid. To be honest, God gave me this great idea to do something special for him on Sept.29th which is the first day of Chuseok (sort of like, the Korean Thanksgiving) and I had this simple idea which was to show him the highlights of the city, and then we could all go eat at this Korean restaurant at the Landing. Well, it was a great idea to me up until I went to dinner monday night with my friend, “big sister,” and mentor Stefanie Dinsbeer (this happened to be a day when I greatly needed encouragement, found it, and realized just how trapped I was spiritually by my enemies. I was freed that day and could see more clearly, but you know how enemies are, they keep coming back.) but as we were eating one of our brothers was talking about how we didn’t really have any good Korean Restaurants here, so I told him about the one at the Landing that I went to and how I thought it was really good. Before I could even finish my sentence though, he shot it down and I was pretty internally devastated. I was already spiritually weak at that moment, and then I started thinking “well perhaps that idea wasn’t that great. Junwoo (my friend from Korea) might not like it and I don’t want to take him some place he’ll hate. Then he’ll be upset with me because he hated this place, and then he’ll hate living here anymore, and then it’ll be all my fault…..” and it kept going from there.

    Today is wednesday…so it happened two days ago, and I still kind of have doubts. I’m still in a vulnerable place and I still need encouragement. I’m still a bit shaken, but I’ll take him there anyway.

    What I need to remember, and the hardest thing for me to remember, is that its not my job to change lives, but to make the effort to reach out to people. My friend may not like this place, but does that mean I should give up before I try? Sure, the enemy used one of our brothers to plant a seed of doubt in me, but that doesn’t mean it has to take root. I pray everyday for that seed to be destroyed. The same God that will help Junwoo, that has helped you, and all my other brothers and sister (both lost and found a like) the same God that created us, that sent his Son on the cross to die for us so that we can be made righteous by faith in Him is the same God who calls us His children and loves us dearly and is always here, ALWAYS HERE with us and for us.

    Why is it so easy for me to remember that He loves US, and harder for me to remember that He loves ME?

    I need to reflect on this today…forgive me for leaving such a comment on your blog. Thank you for your post, for you have given me something to think about, you are an answer to a prayer I prayed earlier when I asked our Father for direction and guidance…I believe He has shed light on something I need to spend a lot of time in prayer over.

    Please pray for me, too.

    Like

    • Overwhelmed By Joy September 19, 2012 at 6:30 pm Reply

      I will absolutely pray for you. It can be difficult sometimes to know the right direction when you are in that waiting period. I am confident that prayer and discernment will show you what you need to do. Your heart is in the right place. I tell people that they don’t need more self-confidence. What we need is more God-confidence. Please let me know how things go!

      Like

  5. Tanisha September 19, 2012 at 9:47 pm Reply

    A little note of encouragement, a smile, a hug. Little things mean a lot.

    Like

    • Overwhelmed By Joy September 19, 2012 at 10:03 pm Reply

      That is so true. Some of the most meaningful things don’t cost anything.

      Like

  6. thoughtsfromanamericanwoman September 20, 2012 at 10:37 am Reply

    Good food for thought, it sure got me thinking on my attitude. I especially liked what you wrote: “You do not need to agree with someone to act with consideration. You do not need to be attracted to someone to demonstrate a loving attitude.” What a better place this ole world would be if we all practiced love that way.

    Like

    • Overwhelmed By Joy September 20, 2012 at 10:44 am Reply

      That is so true. I know I have a lot of work still ahead of me. Thank you for your insight. 🙂

      Like

  7. ansuyo September 22, 2012 at 4:05 pm Reply

    That reminded me of a post I wrote about having a me problem (http://doyoumeanwhatiknow.wordpress.com/2012/08/09/that-sounds-like-a-you-problem/) lol. Every time I start looking at someone else like that, God smacks me upside my head with a reminder that the problem is mine (or not mine so let it go). As a bashful person, I wonder if she is just afraid to talk to you? Since I don’t know how long or how well you know her, I can only make guesses. Maybe you inspire her? I love the Message’s version of Corinthians 13! (don’t worry. my comments will get shorter eventually 🙂 Angie

    Like

Leave a Reply

