Making a list and checking it twice

Do you ever have one of those days where you sigh and just marvel at how great life is? That is how I felt yesterday. Bible study in the morning, grabbed a bite to eat while I was out. . . and I drove myself! (Takes a bow, thank you for the applause!) I returned home just in time to enjoy some of your blogs, which always encourage and inspire me.

The phone rings, and my husband is in a panic. Mr Cool as a Cucumber, the calm in any storm, my buoy and anchor.

“Are you alright????

“Ummm, yes I believe I’m just dandy.” (My tip for the day: Never give away that you are resting in a recliner as you take a break from soaking in the beautiful sun while someone is pounding the pavement in an effort to boost the household income.)

The next thing I remember is being halfway across our friendly little town, watching with neighbors at the scene before us. Not one but two sizable homes were completely engulfed in flames. There was a popping sound as though someone was firing a handgun. I later learned that was the sound of 500 wine bottles from a valuable collection exploding like small grenades.

Pile your troubles on God’s shoulders—he’ll carry your load, he’ll help you out. He’ll never let good people topple into ruin. – Ps. 55:22, The Message

The good news is that none of the homeowners were inside the home. Sadly, a family pet perished in the fire.

The community was abuzz with stories of faith, encouragement, hope, a helping spirit. I have always known I live in the friendliest place ever; it took such a tragedy to really reveal my exceptional neighbors to everyone else. Both homes were a complete and total loss. The owner of the first home, where the fire originated, had absolutely nothing to salvage today. The second homeowner had friends and neighbors assisting as they collected dishes and other items that survived a blaze so powerful that it continued for hours. Nearby homes were in danger throughout the night, but thankfully escaped any damage.

Today the neighbors also discussed what each was doing to protect themselves from a similar situation, and how to document personal items if ever needed for an insurance claim.

You have full control over what happens to you eternally. Unlike a house fire that has many variables, your eternal home is entirely determined by choices you can make today.

“But the work that each person does will be clearly seen, because the Day will make it plain. That Day will appear with fire, and the fire will test everyone’s work. If the building they put on the foundation still stands, they will get their reward. But if their building is burned up, they will suffer loss. They will be saved, but it will be like someone escaping from a fire.” – 1 Cor. 3:9-13

Do you know your destiny?

Tagged: , , , , , ,

9 thoughts on “Making a list and checking it twice

  1. sagescenery September 13, 2012 at 2:24 pm Reply

    I thank God He’s there when that moment changes from an ordinary day to a remarkable day in the blinking of an eye!! God Bless You for seeing past the tragedy to the love in your neighbors!!

    Like

  2. DEB September 13, 2012 at 9:11 pm Reply

    That looks like an awesome house that burned. I can’t begin to understand what they must be going through. Great photo!

    Like

    • Overwhelmed By Joy September 13, 2012 at 10:22 pm Reply

      There were actually two homes. The smoke was so heavy that it isn’t immediately evident. They were very beautiful homes. It has really reminded me of the importance of having friendships with your neighbors.

      Like

  3. GermTerminator uv sanitizer September 13, 2012 at 9:36 pm Reply

    Hi there, i just needed to drop you a line to say that i thoroughly enjoyed this detailed post of yours, I have subscribed to your RSS feeds and have skimmed a few of your posts before but this one really stood out for me. I know that I am just a stranger to you but I figured you might appreciate the admiration Take care and keep blogging.

    Like

  4. LubbyGirl September 15, 2012 at 10:28 am Reply

    What a tragic thing to go through. Loss on any level is difficult – I do thank the LORD that my true treasures aren’t subject to fire and theft and so forth; knowing that helps me deal with loss here. I do pray these folks have that assurance too.

    Like

    • Overwhelmed By Joy September 15, 2012 at 11:17 am Reply

      I agree. Both families are doing okay, the second family is taking it remarkably well. It has made all of us here take a step back and really appreciate the protection and blessings we have every day, not take them for granted. I know they would appreciate your prayers as they face many challenges ahead.

      Like

  5. love this September 20, 2012 at 6:29 am Reply

    Hellow my name is Jill and I’m a student and this site really helped me. I’m inspired! Thanks!

    Like

  6. oakley prescription glasses January 17, 2013 at 8:17 am Reply

    I have read so many articles or reviews on the topic of the blogger
    lovers except this paragraph is truly a pleasant piece of writing, keep it up.

    Like

Leave a Reply

