I dropped my phone in my. . .

I go to great lengths to hide any disability from my Multiple Sclerosis.

  • I often take days to write a single blog.
  • I wear an AFO that assists my gait.
  • I have my husband answer questions to hide my garbled words that some call a sentence.
  • I have a handicap-accessible home to decrease the number of preventable falls.
  • I use texts as a primary form of communication whenever possible.
  • I have calendar reminders for virtually everything. Today I have reminders to make a phone call to the disability company, ironically.
  • I use products for some delicate issues that are not open for discussion. 🙂
  • I blog.

This list could go on for quite some time. I do everything I can think of so I don’t tax myself mentally or physically. Some days it is very effective. Some days? Not so much.

  I am currently waiting for the disability company to return my phone call. We have played phone tag for days, and I would like to remove it from my to-do list. You know with Murphy’s Law that if I leave the room at all without my phone, it will ring.

With skill and grace that can only be described as a majestic mess, I lost my phone in mid-air. I watch it in slow motion replay as it slides smoothly from my hand, up through the air. boundless flips as though it is Gabby Douglas competing in the Olympics, and a perfect dismount in the coffee mug. I hate to brag, but I didn’t even spill a drop!

I know that some of you are skeptical of this story. I hear you saying, “Coffee cup? Riightt. In the loo is more like it.” I would provide a photo to substantiate my claim, but I had the insight to rush it to surgery for removal of the battery. I expect recovery to take up to a day, along with possible complications. In the meantime, that cup ‘o joe is not about to be wasted. I think I have earned a break, and I’m off to make some iced coffee. And yes, I will use a mug with a sippee lid.

Oh the shame of wasting a drop of coffee!

Tagged: , , , , , ,

13 thoughts on “I dropped my phone in my. . .

  1. thewallacegroupkw September 4, 2012 at 12:11 pm Reply

    Been there, done that. Dropped one in the toilet once. Such a klutz sometimes and I have not MS! 🙂 Have a great day!

    Like

    • Overwhelmed By Joy September 4, 2012 at 12:14 pm Reply

      I hope you have a great day also! Looks like it is a good day for me to stay off the phone. 🙂

      Like

  2. jessrose24 September 4, 2012 at 1:42 pm Reply

    I can’t believe I haven’t been to your blog (which is awesome) before!

    Like

  3. Jennifer September 4, 2012 at 1:55 pm Reply

    I have dropped multiple phones in liquid!! Lol once in a bathroom sink of running water- I lost my phone and iPod! Then once into the toilet – yep the toilet. And finally once into a cup of soda in my car. I had it in the middle cup holder and bam phone went right in. Needless to say I’m a strong advocate of insurance for our cell phones! Ps. I love your posts- even though I often don’t have time to comment! Happy rest of the week to u!

    Like

    • Overwhelmed By Joy September 4, 2012 at 10:04 pm Reply

      Yikes ~ that was an expensive trip to the bathroom! It sounds like we have a lot in common with our phones. I hope you have a great week as well!

      Like

  4. fruitonthefrontline September 4, 2012 at 3:32 pm Reply

    Ha ha ha great and awesome description! I’d say the cell phone performance with the dismount deserves a 9.9! No splash, not even a drop….ok…..a 10.0 and the crowd goes wild!
    Great post. Thanks I needed the chuckle!!

    Like

  5. The Orchestra Director's Wife September 4, 2012 at 6:30 pm Reply

    I believe you. 🙂 …and I’m impressed. Sounds as if you like your coffee as much as I do. Hope tomorrow you can enjoy it without objects jumping into it. 🙂

    Like

    • Overwhelmed By Joy September 4, 2012 at 9:02 pm Reply

      I do love my coffee! Hopefully tomorrow’s cup won’t include any gymnastics. 🙂

      Like

  6. ervrea September 4, 2012 at 7:22 pm Reply

    You are impressive. I don’t have MS and would have given up long before you.

    Like

    • Overwhelmed By Joy September 4, 2012 at 7:36 pm Reply

      Don’t sell yourself short. You will be amazed at the strength you find when backed into a corner. Thanks for stopping by!

      Like

  7. carolofthebells September 19, 2012 at 12:15 pm Reply

    I’ve never drowned a cell phone, but car door remote? Well, stubbornly enough, there’s a key basket located above our kitchen sink, and I am a short person (and try to make a basket, so to speak.. plunk!).. Heard long ago (from daughter and friends who drowned 2 phones each, though some shook it up a little by running them over..) to plunge the poor device in dry white rice immediately. Don’t remove battery, etc, so as to not move the water around. The rice will absorb the water (coffee, uh.. whatever). It works! Suffice it to say I keep a covered jar on the sideboard at all times and that many people walk in and say, “Ah, that’s for the cell, right?” Suffice it further to say that I, too, am inspired by you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

