Be Still and Know

Be still and know

Sometimes silence is golden. Today is one of those days.

One medical issue I deal with is occipital neuralgia. I can think of few things that generate such a level of pain as this. Ironically, it has taught me a lot over the years. Have you ever experienced something that overwhelms you so much that silence seems to be your only friend? Today I am so thankful for silence.

Occipital neuralgia has several distinctive features. For me, it begins with a sensation of having put my finger in a light socket. More accurately, that sensation runs from the base of my skull up the side of my head, and thankfully taking a rest near the top of my head.

When this intruder arrives – unannounced, unwelcome, uninvited – I want to shut down. If I take a moment to ponder some blessing from this, I can eventually summon a response. Silence and serene surroundings, while not a solution, can slow down the progression. Today, I am home and able to rest. My obligations for the day have been put aside for now. A scheduled doctor’s appointment, ironically to see my neurologist. An item we needed to return to the store. A trip to the grocery store. The list could be extensive.

I can see the ‘blessings in disguise’. I haven’t driven in nearly two weeks because of this, and a delay in my appointment means I will have a  chauffeur that ensures a safe arrival. Staying away from the store means I can’t be tempted towards impulse shopping. No grocery shopping? Because I live in the most prosperous nation in the world, it is a rare day when my kitchen is void of any food. I can have something delivered. The options are nearly endless. I am not truly out of food; I just want my comfort food. The list can quickly be reduced to my wants instead of my needs.

My neurologist has successfully treated the condition with a nerve block in the past. For now, I will enjoy the wonderful sound of silence. In this busy world, that opportunity is a gift.

Summing it all up, friends, I’d say you’ll do best by filling your minds and meditating on things true, noble, reputable, authentic, compelling, gracious—the best, not the worst; the beautiful, not the ugly; things to praise, not things to curse. Put into practice what you learned from me, what you heard and saw and realized. Do that, and God, who makes everything work together, will work you into his most excellent harmonies. – Phil. 4:8, The Message

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

11 thoughts on “Be Still and Know

  1. mizzmackthinksdisanddat August 27, 2012 at 3:19 pm Reply

    Reblogged this on mizzmackthinksdisanddat.

    Like

  2. mybeautfulthings August 27, 2012 at 3:34 pm Reply

    I clicked ‘like’ but am sorry about your pain and do not like that. Thank you for visiting my blog and liking my post. I hope some of my beautiful things will help you in your silence. Peace to you 🙂

    Like

  3. sagescenery August 27, 2012 at 3:40 pm Reply

    This was our sermon on Sunday…you are right on, girl!!! Your experience is a life lesson for us all! God Bless!

    Like

    • Overwhelmed By Joy August 27, 2012 at 3:56 pm Reply

      I love how God intertwines our places and conversations like that! Thank you for stopping by. Blessings to you as well!

      Like

  4. Kip Light August 27, 2012 at 5:22 pm Reply

    Peace and quiet can be such a blessing in so many cases. While I don’t suffer from much pain, my day to day fight with MS causes me to be susceptible to mental irritations. Living in a house with one wonderful son who has no volume except “loud as WWIII”, a great dtr-in-law who loves to scream, 3 grandsons (18, 11 and 3), 4 dogs and 2 and a half cats makes peace and quiet a most valuable commodity. Therefore, I can relate 🙂 I hope your day of peace and quiet is most soothing and that your Doc can alleviate the effects from your unwanted “friend”. God bless you with peace.

    Like

    • Overwhelmed By Joy August 27, 2012 at 6:29 pm Reply

      Oh no, that might make me come unglued. You are very patient!

      Like

      • Kip Light August 27, 2012 at 7:58 pm

        School sessions are my only savior, LOL.

        Like

  5. Under Pressure | OverwhelmedByJoy August 29, 2012 at 6:54 pm Reply

    […] to five because, well, that is my limit. No one has my attention after the fifth visit in a week. I have not been feeling well, as noted in a previous post. Frankly, I had to cancel two appointments last week because I felt like poop. There, I said it. I am […]

    Like

  6. bobbiezen September 4, 2012 at 8:18 pm Reply

    I applaud your resolve and your courage. I am an RN who manages a Pain Management Practice. We have many patients who have benefited from Occipital Nerve Blocks to help ease their pain. I wish you more pain-free days and thank you for sharing your positive spirit!

    Like

    • Overwhelmed By Joy September 4, 2012 at 8:43 pm Reply

      I’m trying steroids this round, primarily because I didn’t feel that I knew my new neurologist well enough for that procedure. That is a lot of trust put in the physician! I am 1 – 2 days away from changing my mind. Do some of your patients have it done regularly?

      Like

Leave a Reply

