Help!

What is the biggest fear you face currently?

My fear is not generally focused on present circumstances. I struggle, however, with the question, ‘How is this going to turn out?’. Can you relate?

Our daughter was always happy to stay in the background. . . safe places. . . on the ground. We had the opportunity to rappel while on an annual vacation to Colorado. I am the one who encourages skydiving, she is the one on the ground taking photos. After much discussion arguing pleading coaxing, down she went! If you have rappelled, you know the first step is the biggest challenge to overcome.

Fast-forward five years, and she had joined the U.S. Army. She now had the goal to be part of the Airborne unit, hoping to be a paratrooper. It all began with that first step.

While njuries prevented her from completing this goal, she has gone on to accomplish other great things in her life and with her career.

What is keeping you from taking that first step today?

“Do one thing everyday that scares you.”
Eleanor Roosevelt

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , ,

9 thoughts on “Help!

  1. Evangeline Colbert August 21, 2012 at 2:02 pm Reply

    So glad to have found this inspiring piece. I’m facing some things that I’ve hesitated to do and this was a good motivator. Also, I’m glad you found my blog “likable.” Thanks!

    Like

  2. Liz Mason August 22, 2012 at 2:44 pm Reply

    Nice post! Overcoming fear is absolutely possible!! Thanks for sharing

    Like

  3. mizzmackthinksdisanddat August 22, 2012 at 9:09 pm Reply

    I’m so glad I found this post. I have been struggling with my fear of public speaking or talking to people in general. But this reminds me I have to go forward. Very nice!

    Like

    • Overwhelmed By Joy August 22, 2012 at 10:14 pm Reply

      That is a challenge for a lot of people. Best wishes! I’m glad you liked my blog, also!

      Like

      • mizzmackthinksdisanddat August 22, 2012 at 10:35 pm

        Thank you for the good wishes. Your welcome I am glad I followed you 🙂

        Like

  4. Poznan Fotograf August 23, 2012 at 7:47 am Reply

    You’re right, Ann, photos and other visual art can be wonderful writing prompts. In my workshops I use a collection of picture cards I’ve collected over the years for that sort of exercise. This photo of Kristen’s would certainly inspire stories.

    Like

  5. healthandhappinesswithjen August 23, 2012 at 11:17 am Reply

    Loved this post. It’s amazing how much fear can disable us at times. You must be proud of your daughter for taking that giant leap of faith!

    Like

    • Overwhelmed By Joy August 23, 2012 at 4:04 pm Reply

      I am very proud of her! It gave her confidence in many areas of her life.

      Like

Leave a Reply

