Practicing what I preach

A Heath bar.

A Heath bar. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I needed a taste of my own medicine for this day. . .

  • I drove past a woman lying on the side of the road. Five of us successfully swerved to miss her. I darted back as quickly back to the scene. I found an elderly woman bleeding heavily from her mouth. My mind reeled to ask the necessary questions, take the appropriate steps, all in the correct order. No apparent head injury, no broken bones, etc. Carefully, carefully I assisted her inside her home. She did not know any of her neighbors, she had no family in the area, no friends she could call. I felt overwhelmed with sadness and a greater sense of responsibility. Soon I was familiar with every room in her house as I helped to get her cleaned up. I checked in with her several times during the day. I didn’t start out the day expecting this divine appointment, but here it is. Her hands and face are scuffed up, she has a broken tooth, etc. She is miraculously alive. My heart rate stayed elevated for hours because I kept (unnecessarily) replaying the scene. That is futile and unproductive. I had to leave her because. . .
  • I was supposed to be at the pharmacy to pick up the appropriate prescriptions for my mother’s colonoscopy. I called to notify her I was running very late. No answer. I assessed things and realized that, yes, she was sitting outside in 100-degree weather as she waited outside for me. Diversion, diversion.
  • Plans changed again. She wanted to join me immediately. No problem. . . until she realized she had lost her glasses. I don’t wear glasses, but I don’t understand how you do that. We headed back to her residence after she looked throughout her purse, to no avail.
  • Alzheimer’s, Alzheimer’s. . . she couldn’t find the glasses, the home health nurse couldn’t, I couldn’t. A new Alzheimer’s facility being built across the street is near completion. She pointed out again today that she was ready to become their first resident. I don’t foresee that happening for awhile. However, I was ready to add an emergency trip to the ophthalmologist’s for the day. Plans changed after the three of us looked in every single room twice because. . .
  • I found them in the car. She had been sitting on the eyeglasses. Not a problem, and we continued on with the game plan. In the one bright spot of the day, I dropped her dog off at the kennel for the next 24 hours. Good thing, because. .
  • The Dulcolax worked well. Too well. Too quickly. I was caught off-guard again. Anyone who has had a colonoscopy understands the details here. We start the Golytely in 10 minutes. I was already near my breaking point from washing so many things, I thought I was about to drop. I sent a text message to my husband for some cleaning supplies that we needed and. . .
  • He came home with a Heath candy bar included in the bag. It’s amazing how a Heath bar can make a situation so much better. I looked back over the events so far. . .

I can see what has gone wrong, or I can look for what went correctly. It is sure to be a long night ahead. The sun is sure to rise tomorrow. It’s about perspective.

Blessed is the man who perseveres under trial, because when he has stood the test, he will receive the crown of life that God has promised to those who love him. – James 1:12

]

Tagged: , , , ,

18 thoughts on “Practicing what I preach

  1. The Orchestra Director's Wife August 2, 2012 at 7:29 pm Reply

    Oh, my. If I don’t get a new attitude from reading your blog, there is no hope for me. You are superwoman. Can I say, that I hope you have a better day tomorrow?

    Like

    • Overwhelmed By Joy August 3, 2012 at 9:34 pm Reply

      I am definitely not superwoman. I took a very long nap today! Everyone is stable and much-improved over yesterday. We received a call in the middle of everything that my mother-in-law had developed some complications post-surgery, and is in the ICU. I’m glad I didn’t know what the day would hold when I got up yesterday!

      Like

      • The Orchestra Director's Wife August 5, 2012 at 5:07 pm

        Sorry to hear about your mother in law. I hope she is doing better.

        I meant that you were ‘superwoman’ in your attitude…that you were able to maintain such a great attitude in the midst of such stressful circumstances and see the good in the day. That’s where my downfall enters in…but that’s where the true test of what you’re made of comes.

        Like

      • Overwhelmed By Joy August 5, 2012 at 9:17 pm

        Thank you, I definitely have to take it to heart and practice it. My mother-in-law will hopefully be out of ICU in the next day.

        Like

  2. michelemarshall August 2, 2012 at 10:16 pm Reply

    I love to hear stories like this. It’s about counting our blessings instead of our disappointments. Seeing the people that walk in our outreach ministry each week is a great reminder to count our blessing. Thanks for the added reminder you have given me here.

    Like

  3. zaptheblues August 3, 2012 at 12:49 am Reply

    I lose my glasses several times per day. They are only for reading and I cannot read anything without them, however, I can’t leave them on as I wouldn’t be able to see for walking. I generally find them wherever I last read something, by the computer, in the kitchen, somewhere like that. You would be surprised how many times you have to put reading glasses on and take them off again each day!
    The solution would be to wear them on a fancy chain round my neck but vanity prevents me, I feel that is an old person look lol! Instead I spend a lot of time looking for them every day!!

    Like

    • Overwhelmed By Joy August 3, 2012 at 9:24 pm Reply

      We actually discussed getting her a chain for her glasses today, after they got lost 3 times in my home. She said no, but I’m up for any suggestions!

      Like

  4. ISing4God.Com August 3, 2012 at 4:34 am Reply

    Wow. What a day! I certainly hope for better days ahead. Great writing too.

    Like

    • Overwhelmed By Joy August 3, 2012 at 9:26 pm Reply

      Thank you! Pretty good news overall, believing for a positive outcome from a biopsy done today. It’s a journey every day.

      Like

  5. dragon August 3, 2012 at 6:58 am Reply

    You had me at the Heath Bar! Thank you.

    Like

  6. Benete August 3, 2012 at 3:55 pm Reply

    you have got a really useful blog i have been here reading for about an hour. i am a newbie and your success is very much an inspiration for me..http://www.boliche.com.br/email.htm

    Like

  7. internet marketing tips August 10, 2012 at 12:58 am Reply

    I’m impressed, I must say. Actually not often do I encounter a weblog that’s each educative and entertaining, and let me tell you, you’ve hit the nail on the head. Your thought is outstanding; the issue is something that not sufficient people are speaking intelligently about. I’m very happy that I stumbled across this in my seek for one thing referring to this.

    Like

  8. Véronique Cliquet August 13, 2012 at 5:32 pm Reply

    What a great name for a blog!. The way you have dealt with your day is a great encouragement to us all. Your sense of humour is very refreshing. Thank you also for reading my post : Live well…Die peacefully , I am glad that you like it.I look forward to follow your blog’s posts.

    Like

  9. URL August 14, 2012 at 5:44 pm Reply

    … [Trackback]…

    […] Read More Infos here: overwhelmedbyjoy.wordpress.com/2012/08/02/practicing-what-i-preach/ […]…

    Like

Leave a Reply

