Attitude is (almost) everything!

  Why do I feel so passionately about my attitude in the middle of things? It’s a proven fact that laughter has health benefits! Does this mean laughing at what you are going through? Sometimes. There have been a lot of comedic moments caused as a result of various health issues. More importantly, however, is to remain joyful in the midst of and despite what is going on.  I have included a variety of ideas, and would love to hear yours as well.

  1. Journaling ~ Pour those emotions onto paper so you pour less onto the people you love. I journal online, which has made me far more consistent.
  2. Movies ~ I love going to movies, watching shows on Netflix. One word about that: Do some research about the topic if it is a rough day. You don’t want to be blindsided by the plot & end up with a rebound effect. Redbox is another great option if you can’t get out or want to save some money.
  3. Play games ~ Host game night at your house. Find some online games. (Just don’t send me any requests to play on Facebook!)
  4. Cooking ~ And since you are going for it, surprise someone with an unexpected treat or invite them over for a visit. Which leads to. . .
  5. Interaction with encouraging people ~ I spend the majority of my ‘face time’ with people who are mutually encouraging. I invest my free time wisely.
  6. Place of worship ~ Find what fits you & your needs, but go. Listen to worship music. I have been attending Bible study with the same group for years.
  7. Volunteering ~ During one period when I was homebound, I did some computer work and phone calls for an organization. This may require some creativity, but the rewards far outweigh the investment. I promise you will get more than you give!
  8. Reading ~ As I write this, my son is down the hall laughing so hard at something he has read on the internet that I hear him. I love this about him! I have a list of people I follow on Twitter simply because they make me laugh.
  9. Hang around children! Although ours are grown adults, we go to the pool with friends, attend their children’s activities, etc.
  10. Exercise ~ Find what you really enjoy. I love my Wii. I play tennis & envision I am beating Serena Williams. Really
  11. Take up a new hobby ~ I took up art classes in my 40’s. The list is endless.
  12. Sunday afternoon drive ~ We found a ferry in the middle of nowhere, and it has become one of our favorite local destinations.
  13.  Find funny people ~ We have a local improv theater that is great, for example.
  14. Read some great blogs! One I found today is 1000 Awesome Things.
  15. YouTube videos

What are some of your ideas?

Tagged: , , , , , ,

10 thoughts on “Attitude is (almost) everything!

  1. bornattwentyfive August 1, 2012 at 3:27 am Reply

    You’re so right about the fact that be joyful is an attitude. Few people make me laugh as hard as my dog Jane. I also love looking up doggie memes. Those are usually a riot!

    Like

  2. The Orchestra Director's Wife August 1, 2012 at 8:29 am Reply

    Thank you for this post. I needed the reminder. Thanks, also, for your comment on my blog. I have added you to my Blog reader. Hope you have a wonderful day today.

    Like

    • Overwhelmed By Joy August 1, 2012 at 10:47 am Reply

      Thank you! I just added your blog as well. Have a wonderful day as well.

      Like

  3. Postponing Joy | OverwhelmedByJoy August 3, 2012 at 8:11 am Reply

    […] “Don’t postpone joy until you have learned all of your lessons. Joy is your lesson.” […]

    Like

  4. PPC Training August 3, 2012 at 8:34 am Reply

    It’s best to participate in a contest for top-of-the-line blogs on the web. I will suggest this site!

    Like

  5. best seo software August 4, 2012 at 9:27 pm Reply

    amazing reading for any one who enjoys this kind of stuff. I know that I surely do.

    Like

  6. free url submission August 10, 2012 at 6:57 am Reply

    I searched deep inside myself when reading your content material and it touched me deeply. Thank you

    Like

  7. MomentisMarketing August 14, 2012 at 7:51 pm Reply

    You should take part in a contest for one of the best blogs online. I’m going to highly recommend this blog!

    Like

  8. Riva Wiederhold August 18, 2012 at 10:03 pm Reply

    I just want to say I am just new to weblog and truly liked your web-site. Most likely I’m likely to bookmark your site . You surely have outstanding well written articles. Thank you for sharing with us your webpage.

    Like

Leave a Reply

