Working for a Waistline

We had a very ‘weighty’ move about 3 yrs ago. It was a whopping 5 miles, but it was the most interesting move of our lives. I could write a book (and will probably write more later), but the short version is that we were legal ‘squatters’ for nearly two months in our current home. We finally were able to get the house closed by a title company, but we were unsure if that was going to happen for so long that we put much of our things in storage.

One item that went into storage was our weight machine. This picture to the right is a diagram of what it should look like. . . only found after an exhaustive search via the internet because we have owned it several years. (translation: it doesn’t get enough use to get worn out!)

The machine has, oh, 1000 pieces that go together, give or take. 🙂

We of course didn’t have the original instructions on how it went together, and the adventure began when we finally decided to move it into the house & actually create a ‘workout’ room.

My husband and son worked on locating instructions, but essentially put it together without any whatsoever.  Now the room has some organization, and the weight machine looks like this:

I included the coffee can in the photo ~ the label says ‘weight machine’, and contained every part that went into putting Humpty Dumpty back together again. One goal is to include a few pieces of physical therapy equipment so that I can perpetually be part of my own solution.  Parallel bars, a few other items. I am still working on a plan to fit all of the things I want into this room. I can dream, right?!

For me, this is such a visual description of what it is like when I am recovering after an attack. I look at the seemingly thousands of pieces that have to go together sometimes to make me ‘work’ correctly again. My physical therapist is extremely encouraging, and gives me handouts each time on exercises.

Still, I have yet to meet anyone who has months of PT ahead of them who actually enjoys the process. It may be  a long process. It may be painful. Definitely frustrating, wondering if all my parts will ever work together again. It is worth it every single time.

The biggest challenge is not being able to see the end, or know the results of the end product. This has been true for my physical therapy, for my health at large, for financial, relational, and many other needs I have had. Can you relate?

I am so thankful for people who encourage me along the way. I still have to do the hard work, though, and usually play the role of encouraging others that I am going to come back. Have I come back 100%? No, being honest. But all I have to do for a positive attitude is to think of where I would be if I did absolutely none of the hard work. That motivates me every time. I love being physically active, being able to get out and enjoy life with family and friends. I love being able to contribute. The pain. . . is definitely worth the gain.

I am so thankful for God’s promises that He created me just the way He wanted.

  •  Oh yes, you shaped me first inside, then out; you formed me in my mother’s womb. I thank you, High God – you’re breathtaking! Body and soul, I am marvelously made! I worship in adoration-what a creation! You know me inside and out, you know every bone in my body; You know exactly how I was made, bit by bit, how I was sculpted from nothing into something. Like an open book, you watched me grow from conception to birth; all the stages of my life were spread out before you, The days of my life all prepared before I’d even lived one day. ~ Psalm 139:7 – 16, The Message
  • When the clouds are full of water, it rains. When the wind blows down a tree, it lies where it falls. Don’t sit there watching the wind. Do your own work. Don’t stare at the clouds. Get on with your life.Just as you’ll never understand the mystery of life forming in a pregnant woman, So you’ll never understand the mystery at work in all that God does. Go to work in the morning and stick to it until evening without watching the clock. You never know from moment to moment how your work will turn out in the end. Before the years take their toll. ~Ecclesiastes 11: 3 – 6, The Message
  • But now, God’s Message, the God who made you in the first place, Jacob, the One who got you started, Israel: “Don’t be afraid, I’ve redeemed you. I’ve called your name. You’re mine. When you’re in over your head, I’ll be there with you. When you’re in rough waters, you will not go down. When you’re between a rock and a hard place, it won’t be a dead end – Because I am God, your personal God, The Holy of Israel, your Savior. I paid a huge price for you: all of Egypt, with rich Cush and Seba thrown in! That’s how much you mean to me! That’s how much I love you! I’d sell off the whole world to get you back, trade the creation just for you. ~ Isaiah 43:1 – 4, The Message

I hope that is encouraging news for you today, whatever you are facing!

How amazing that I don’t have to have the answers, I don’t have to see the big picture. I do need to do some work and be part of the picture. There was a purpose and a plan for me, for you, long before what is happening in today’s situation. This time is not a dead-end. There is so much more to the story. Isn’t that a relief!

Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

