It’s my twin sister’s birthday

Well, actually I didn’t feel like ‘yea’ at all about my birthday for the past several days. I wanted to skip it entirely, but that is kind of impossible to do with a twin sister. (I have no idea which one of us is which. . . )

I got stuck in a rut of reminding myself how much my life has changed in the past year, and only reflecting on the negative. That’s always a bad plan.

The morning started out well, but quickly went downhill. I was volunteering for an organization for about an hour this morning. One person asked me why I bothered to show up if I wasn’t really going to participate. (I declined telling her I was not physically able to do so.) A second person forgot that we had made plans for the day, and recited off everything they were doing. . . without me. I was feeling like a loser, and it wasn’t 10 o’clock in the morning.

God works in mysterious ways. Just as I ended that call, here came my neighbor bearing a gift for me. I didn’t think she even knew when my birthday was. My mother, with advanced dementia, called. She asked what day my birthday was, but she called. That was actually one of my main birthday wishes I had made to myself. I spoke to every person in my immediate family. Soon, I began realizing I was choosing whether to have a good birthday or a bad one. Actually, every day is like that. I decided to focus on all the positive things that have come from the changes in my life this past year. I gave myself the lecture I give to my kids ~ Have an attitude of gratitude!

So yea for me! It’s my birthday, and I am going to celebrate. I hope you celebrate whatever this day holds in store for you!

“Don’t postpone joy until you have learned all of your lessons. Joy is your lesson.”

– Alan Cohen

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

5 thoughts on “It’s my twin sister’s birthday

  1. Dianna May 31, 2011 at 9:24 pm Reply

    Aw…..Happy, Happy Birthday to you (and to your twin!)

    I’m so glad it turned into a happy day for you!

    Sending you a birthday (hug).

    Like

    • Overwhelmed By Joy June 1, 2011 at 9:28 am Reply

      Thank you! The day got better all day. Amazing how much my attitude affects things.

      Like

  2. therealsharon May 31, 2011 at 11:02 pm Reply

    Happy Birthday to you and your twin! Those kid pics of you two are adorable! 🙂

    Like

    • Overwhelmed By Joy June 1, 2011 at 9:29 am Reply

      Thank you! We had a grandfather who loved to dress us in identical outfits. I have all kinds of pictures with no idea who is who. 🙂

      Like

  3. sagescenery August 6, 2013 at 4:58 am Reply

    I have certainly missed you, dear bogging friend…and I’m so blessed that you’re celebrating your Birthday, and every day in the Lord!! May God richly bless you this year, and may you be surrounded by positive people!! Amen!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

