Hanging in the Balance of Life

The last two weeks have been phenomenal for me, health-wise. Each day I have gotten stronger and stronger. I only have two speeds in life ~ fast and slow. When I am not doing well, I am pretty good about following orders and rest. That one lesson did take me years to learn, being honest.

Don’t underestimate the value of Doing Nothing, of just going along, listening to all the things you can’t hear, and not bothering.  ~Pooh’s Little Instruction Book, inspired by A.A. Milne

When I feel well, I can be like a car at the Indy 500.

I watched the Indy 500, and I was thinking that if they left earlier they wouldn’t have to go so fast. ~ Steven Wright

When I am this well, I have a mentality that I have to ‘make up’ for all the time that was lost not doing the things I deemed important. It can have disastrous results if I overdo it at these times, and slow me down even further than I started out.
About a month ago, I was barely getting around. I asked to go shopping, and wanted one thing: flowers to plant. Planting is one of the most relaxing things in the world for me. It also produces such a sense of accomplishment because of watching something go from a small seed or plant to a beautiful outpouring of color through a butterfly bush or a blooming rose bush. With a little help from some good soil, sun and water, a few tools, and some knowledge about when and where to plant something, this handful of dirt and plant leaves produces such beauty.
On my Indy 500 days, I love to clean. I love to work outdoors. I like to push myself so hard physically that every muscle in my body aches. The feeling of pain from being sore instead of neurological pain is somehow the most refreshing feeling ~ it says, ‘I’ve been busy, productive, in control.’ That was my weekend. Nice, cool weather that allowed me to work outside and soak in some beautiful sunshine without getting overheated.
The balance, of course, is that there wouldn’t be yardwork if nothing was ever planted in the yard. Each has a place. There would be nothing to clean if I weren’t resting from housework on the other days, weeks.
Half our life is spent trying to find something to do with the time we have rushed through life trying to save.  ~Will Rogers, Autobiography, 1949

I am working on enjoying each day for what it is, not wishing for days to slow down (my constant goal when I was working) and not wishing for life to speed up. Appreciating what each day holds just because it is another day to enjoy life without putting boundaries on it with expectations that may or may not be realized.
Solomon knew this when he wrote about it in Ecclesiastes, Ch 3. From The Message, he writes,

There’s an opportune time to do things, a right time for everything on the earth: A right time for birth and another for death, A right time to plant and another to reap . . . A right time to cry and another to laugh, A right time to lament and another to cheer. . . A right time to search and another to count your losses, A right time to hold on and another to let go, A right time to rip out and another to mend, A right time to shut up and another to speak up . . .

My goal is to enjoy each moment, each day for exactly what it is. I am a work in progress. How are you doing on that? It’s good to encourage one another!

And in the end, it’s not the years in your life that count.  It’s the life in your years.  ~Abraham Lincoln


Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

6 thoughts on “Hanging in the Balance of Life

  1. therealsharon May 16, 2011 at 12:54 am Reply

    Dropped by to say thanks for stopping by my blog. From the little I have seen of yours so far, it looks so inspirational and I LOVE your header with the musical notes and the scripture reference. Now I need to look the scripture up to see what it says!
    I love that quote about enjoying the little things, such a great one!
    I’m subscribing to your blog so I can read more! 🙂

    Like

  2. Overcoming Illness With Joy May 16, 2011 at 7:42 am Reply

    I put this post to the test right after I wrote it. I fell over something I didn’t see in the dark. Mildly sprained a wrist, have bruises on my arm & leg, and opened up a wound. I laid in bed (in a good amount of pain) and decided I had better apply my own words so I don’t make a liar out of myself. 🙂

    Like

  3. Kristin Brænne May 16, 2011 at 3:18 pm Reply

    Be a ★ !

    Like

    • Overcoming Illness With Joy May 17, 2011 at 3:00 am Reply

      Thank you ~ I love your beautiful pictures on your site!

      Like

  4. therealsharon May 16, 2011 at 11:03 pm Reply

    OMG! How horrible! So sorry to hear about your fall, thank God you didn’t break anything! 😦
    Hope you feel better soon and I’ll keep your healing in my prayers!

    Like

    • Overcoming Illness With Joy May 17, 2011 at 3:02 am Reply

      Thank you for your prayers! I was very thankful I landed on carpeting instead of hardwood floors. I am glad I didn’t break anything, either!

      Like

Leave a Reply

