What would I do differently

Hearing someone voice a regret usually saddens me deeply. Allow me a chance to explain myself further as I give a few definitions for the word ‘regret’.

Merriam-Webster defines regret a few different ways:

1. a : to mourn the loss or death of    b : to miss very much

2.  to be very sorry for

Webster’s Dictionary offers a different definition to consider:

1. Pain of mind on account of something done or experienced in the past, with a wish that it had been different

These definitions encompass a pretty broad range of ways to express regret, don’t they?

Most of us can relate personally to the first two definitions. That can include the death of a friend or close family member. Perhaps a dear friend has moved away. It is expected that you would miss them a great deal.

How about the third definition offered? Do you have regrets about something in your past? More importantly,

Is there still something you can do today to affect the long-term outcome of something you regret?

That is the type of regret I am suggesting here. It can be very difficult to take that first step forward to change a relationship. Can you relate?

I came across this quote today from Og Mandino. It has challenged my thinking, my choices for the day, my outlook.

Og Mandino

Mandino wrote The Greatest Salesman in the World which contains the “time-tested wisdom of the ancients distilled into ten simple scrolls”. . .

Scroll I – Today I begin a new life.
Scroll II – I will greet this day with love in my heart.
Scroll III – I will persist until I succeed.
Scroll IV – I am nature’s greatest miracle.
Scroll V – I will live this day as if it is my last.
Scroll VI – Today I will be master of my emotions.
Scroll VII – I will laugh at the world (Keep perspective)
Scroll VIII – Today I will multiply my value a hundredfold.
Scroll IX – I will act now, I will act now, I will act now.
Scroll X – I will pray for guidance.

What about you? Do you have any regrets today that you still have the ability to impact, as much as it depends on you?

Share some of your thoughts with me and others. When have you done this in the past? Did it bring some peace to your situation? Do you have any situations or relationships currently that you would treat differently if today truly were the last day to intervene? I would love to hear from you.

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

12 thoughts on “What would I do differently

  1. lifeandfriendship January 8, 2013 at 3:03 pm Reply

    Thank you for sharing this quote. I don’t think we can be reminded enough to treat others with this kind of loving kindness.

    • Overwhelmed By Joy January 8, 2013 at 3:06 pm Reply

      I agree wholeheartedly with you. It is a constant challenge and struggle to give of ourselves sacrificially.

  2. PriConnects January 8, 2013 at 3:38 pm Reply

    what goes around, comes around! we must treat others the way we want ourselves to be treated! Great post

  3. therunningtherapist January 8, 2013 at 5:18 pm Reply

    Love the quote. I don’t think I have ever read that before. I like to believe that I do this already. Thanks for the reminder to keep doing. I’m really trying to not regret anything because we are never promised another day so I am wanting to make the most of today.

  4. sagescenery January 8, 2013 at 6:53 pm Reply

    I like this post a lot!!! Well said!! My outlook on life is to treat all people the way I would treat them if they sat right down next to me in the church pew this Sunday!! Of course I would love them as God loves them…I don’t get to pick and choose who to love, just because we’re not in the church building!! Love…like Jesus did…

  5. The Verdant Home January 8, 2013 at 6:56 pm Reply

    It’s been quite a few years since I read any Og Mandino. Thank you for the reminder of how uplifting his books are. Now to dig one out!

  6. Learning2Hear January 9, 2013 at 12:14 am Reply

    This is a thought-provoking post and quote; very timely for a new year. My regret that I’m working on changing is to trust God no matter what the circumstances look like. I too often let doubt or fear creep in when things look bad or hopeless, instead of focusing on the FACT that nothing is impossible to God. Nothing.

  7. katiessojourn January 14, 2013 at 5:47 am Reply

    This is beautiful, mind if I share it on my blog?

  8. [...] What would I do differently (overwhelmedbyjoy.wordpress.com) [...]

  9. Melissmor February 9, 2014 at 8:17 am Reply

    This is a new outlook on my life. I am placing the “scrolls” into action.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,330 other followers

