Would you like an order of fries with that?

I heard a message this past week on a topic that causes many to cringe. The speaker even called it the ‘S’ word. . . submission. Suddenly people shrink in their seats and mentally check out. I walked away with one thought on my mind: McDonald’s.

Our daughter worked at McDonald’s during her high school years. One of the first things they train their employees to do is to up-sell their orders. Order a hamburger and you should expect to be asked if you would like an order of fries as well.

Spend more than you intended.

Is this a bad thing? I don’t think so. If I flip the question upside-down to a statement, it sounds like this:

Let me offer you more than you expected from me.

What a great model for serving others with my life. Do I give the least required so that I have minimum effort to claim a success? Or am I willing to give more than I expected, more than I intended, more than I thought I was up to giving?

Today my goal is to beyond that. I am going to offer to super-size my time, my service, my gifts.

Can I super-size your request, please?

What are your thoughts?

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , ,

17 thoughts on “Would you like an order of fries with that?

  1. The Verdant Home November 7, 2012 at 10:36 am Reply

    A thoughtful and inspiring post…with a twist! I’ll never look at McDonalds french fries the same way ever again! Peace!

  2. daniellewlliams November 7, 2012 at 10:38 am Reply

    That a great post! I shared this on my Facebook wall. I’m a giver and often I wonder if this is a good thing or a bad thing – I always go way above expectations. Thanks for making me feel good about my efforts for others!

    • Overwhelmed By Joy November 7, 2012 at 2:58 pm Reply

      I am certain you are a great example to those around you! Thank you for sharing it on your facebook wall.

  3. thewallacegroupkw November 7, 2012 at 10:58 am Reply

    Fabulous post! If we could get this concept accepted across the US we’d all have a better life experience. My parents always taught me the concept of giving and doing more than is expected in everything I do. Kudos to McDonalds and thanks for the different perspective! I’d like to repost this!

  4. eatwithfatjoe November 7, 2012 at 12:00 pm Reply

    Mc-Super-Sized Please!!!

  5. crankygiraffe November 7, 2012 at 12:07 pm Reply

    I love how you turned it all around. I feel that, in general, we always look at the negative and think of how we’ve been tricked or wronged – much like being “tempted” to buy fries even when we didn’t really want them. Thinking about how we can offer more to people in our everyday lives is something I think about too. I actually blogged about this idea today!

    • Overwhelmed By Joy November 7, 2012 at 3:04 pm Reply

      I will try to be sure to read your post today! Your input is so true.

  6. ruleofstupid November 7, 2012 at 1:08 pm Reply

    I like the intent – but with MacD’s what they’re actually saying is “would you like more salt, fat and hydrogenated oils with that?” – a bit like a mugger saying, “would you like a stab to go with that punch in the face!”
    Give extra, but give better than Maccy-D’s !!

  7. marriedwithtwins November 7, 2012 at 7:16 pm Reply

    Going above and beyond What someone ordered sounds like a great way to serve one another. Love it!

    • Overwhelmed By Joy November 8, 2012 at 7:45 am Reply

      Thank you! And I love your blog name. I am an identical twin, with a few other sets in the family. It always catches my attention!

  8. Anna Popescu November 8, 2012 at 8:57 am Reply

    Love this “super-size” idea!

  9. lifeonwry.com November 8, 2012 at 6:10 pm Reply

    Bravo!

  10. Penny Lane November 11, 2012 at 10:13 pm Reply

    Hiya! I nominated you for the inspiring blogger award.
    You can check out the link here: http://mamasbeendrinkin.com/2012/11/12/very-inspiring-blogger-award/

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,330 other followers

