It’s a brand new day and I am off to school!

It seems like everyone is getting ready for school right now. Some are taking their children to preschool for the first time. Others are celebrating their first day of kindergarten. Still others are entering high school, and of course there is always excitement as well for those starting college for the first time.

I start my first day of school today, also! I didn’t get a new outfit or backpack for the day. I’m not packing my lunch or buying a set of notebooks.

Today I begin my first day as a new student in the ‘next phase of life’. My son is heading back to college, my husband is on a business trip. I am starting my first authentic day alone in this new world,  a process that one year ago when my permanent disability first went into effect.

I spent the year getting ready ~ my own preschool. That included different preparation than some, perhaps. I worked on my health, my attitude, and many other things. Most importantly, I worked on educating myself on both my options and the new direction I am heading.

I am excited! It enables me to invest in some relationships on a deeper level now. I can invest more deeply in my study of God’s Word.  I have significantly less stress. I am already learning to listen. There is specific time now to work on a bigger writing project that is in process. I have all kinds of great opportunities that I am now appreciating!

I know what I’m doing. I have it all planned out-plans to take care of you, not abandon you, plans to give you the future you hope for. ~ Jeremiah 29:11, The Message

Isn’t that a great promise? I never had to plan out my new year. I don’t need a syllabus or lots of expensive supplies. I am ready to listen, do my part, and enjoy what lies ahead for me!

What plans do you have for this year?

Tagged: , , , , ,

6 thoughts on “It’s a brand new day and I am off to school!

  1. Sandi Ormsby August 29, 2011 at 1:51 pm Reply

    Hi, I’m first time visitor from The Real Sharon.

    The verse from Jeremiah is so comforting. I too, have recently begun a new journey that takes me from my comfort zone. A few years ago, I was laid off from work and have been unable to find a job. Luckily, unemployment kicked in and I was able to enjoy being home with my young children. After 2 years, unemployment stopped and I had a mini-blogging job (God provided) which, unfortunately didn’t last too long.

    I have a little bit of savings, but that will be gone this next month, right when my 5 & 7 year old return to school. My 5 year old starts kindergarten. I’m left worrying, how am I going to make ends meet. Kindergarten is only part day, making a job hard to come by and I can’t afford day care. A neighbor came and knocked on my door and inquired if I could help babysit her grandson when her daughter comes to town every month. It’s not much, but again, God provided something. He knows I can’t pay utilities with just babysitting 3 days of a month. AND, I know he will not leave us in the dark. :)

    We’ve had to tighten the purse strings, but with my husband’s job…we traveled the summer with him (part business/vacation) and were able to see amazing places. Couldn’t spend extra $$, but we camped.

    So thank you, that verse was very comforting as I’m looking at my credit card statement wondering how I’m going to get all those school supplies! the schools want so much now!

    P.S. I noticed you said “permanent disability” I don’t know if that’s physical…but if you find it difficult to manage your weight being disabled, I’ve found a program that works! (no sales pitch, I’m serious.)

    Visit me and my journey in life,
    Sandi
    http://www.ahhsome.wordpress.com
    Lake Forest, CA
    ** Monday’s weigh in- down 14lbs in 3 weeks! Wahoo!

  2. Overwhelmed By Joy August 29, 2011 at 2:32 pm Reply

    I am so glad to hear that the passage from Jeremiah encouraged you! It certainly did for me, as I like to think I can snap my finger & make it all work out. I am facing slightly different circumstances than you, but I definitely appreciate & know first-hand the challenges of having your income disappear.What an encouragement to see some financial provision just as you have approached that season when you are able to babysit. I will pray that He continues to provide for all your needs, and that you remain encouraged in your faith. How nice that you also enjoyed a vacation! That is so important, and I’m confident your children appreciate that shared experience most of all. Some vacations get so planned that the purpose can get lost. :-) I am on permanent disability. It took me nearly a year to accept that it is really permanent. . . But it is. That has been a lot of my journey this past year as I waited to find my purpose in this new role. It is definitely due to physical challenges – some of that is discussed in my early blogs.Thank you so much for the recommendation regarding your website. My decreased mobility definitely hampers my ability to exercise, but I do what I can. Congratulations on your success!

  3. inkspeare August 31, 2011 at 9:12 am Reply

    I loved the Bible verse and thank you for sharing your experiences and inspiration with us. Much Love.

  4. Overwhelmed By Joy August 31, 2011 at 9:25 am Reply

    Thank you very muvh!

  5. alienhippy September 1, 2011 at 6:35 am Reply

    I too chose joy and listening. God is so good!
    I am dyslexic also I have Aspergers syndrome.
    The Autistic Spectrum is very misunderstood, I feel in God’s love there is a difference. I admire your determination and wish you every blessing with the plans God has given you.
    Love and hugs. xx :)

  6. Overwhelmed By Joy September 1, 2011 at 9:43 am Reply

    I agree that there is a great deal of misunderstanding regarding Ausberger’s Syndrome. I admire that you write a wonderful despite the dyslexia. I tried to encourage someone else to blog who has much to offer, but they were fearful to do so because of their diagnosis. You are such an inspiration! I also believe that with God’s love there is a tremendous difference. He certainly makes beauty from our ashes. Greatest blessings to you  and keep writing. You have so much to offer!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,299 other followers

